Set peacefully amid trees, this hefty wooden structure is topped with green roofed towers and almost-golden onion domes. The 1872 stone original was destroyed by an 1890 earthquake. Built on the same foundations a new wooden version, finished in 1895, was turned into a club by the Bolsheviks, who removed its five onion-domes in the 1930s. Serious reconstruction began in 1961, but church services only recommenced after 1991. Photos of its various incarnations are displayed in the entry hall. Women need to wear a headscarf to enter.